Distractions, Diversions, Books, Wines, Whiskeys and Other Stuff To Think About When You Should Be Doing Something Else.

Vino Veritas: Francis Ford Coppola Director’s Pinot Noir, 2008

 Francis Ford Coppola Director’s Pinot Noir

2008, North Coast, California

Pinot Noir is not typically a wine that tends to be in my personal wheelhouse. My palate tends to favor big, jammy, spicy and bold Zinfandels and Syrahs/Shiraz. On the other hand, I’ll take good wine wherever I can find it and this Pinot Noir qualifies.

In the glass this wine is very, very pale to point of appearing watery. I think I’ve actually had a rosé wine or two that were actually a touch darker. The nose is also light, but spicy with hints of dark cherry and plums. The taste is light, but round and very well-balanced. The flavor, lightly filled with strawberry and cherry notes, doesn’t exactly make a bold statement but its earthy spiciness does linger with a bright acidity and not much tannin.

This is the kind of dry red that I would tend to recommend for those family gatherings where tastes are greatly varied. I also think that this would be a pretty good pairing with turkey, so I bet you can tell where I am going with that. I also would recommend this as a nice party starter, something to prime the palate before moving on to larger, dryer and more robust wines.

(H/T to Corks and Caftans for the excellent picture.)

Leave a Reply

