Distractions, Diversions, Books, Wines, Whiskeys and Other Stuff To Think About When You Should Be Doing Something Else.

So, it’s been a while…

I randomly decided to look in on this blog after many, many years. Honestly, the 2016 election among other things kind of killed it for me. I was listening to an episode of the Jordan Harbinger Show podcast and the guest was talking about how he gave up on blogging for five years, and the opportunity that he may have missed because of that. Do people Blog any more? I guess it doesn’t matter. This space only really functioned for me to put down ideas in some sort of findable space.

What’s new / What’s different / What’s the same
:

I got divorced. I got re-married (major upgrade there!). I still work for the same company. I’d like to think I’m even better at my job than I was before. I certainly spend enough time doing it. I probably need to do something else instead.

I still read. I kind of stopped doing that for a year or so, but COVID-19 certainly got me back in that habit. I’ve gone back to re-read many old friends over the last year, and the Amazon fairy brought me some others that I missed, or that missed me. Dead tree editions are still the way to go. No e-reader for me. I really have no interest in non-fiction right now. The world is just too real I guess.

I still get random 5GW thoughts when thinking about current events. I’m kind of glad, and simultaneously horrified, that those concepts have been born out by history in many ways.

I still don’t get Twitter. I gave it another try at the beginning of the pandemic, but it just won’t take. I do listen to a lot of podcasts. They kind of serve the same role as blogs used to back in the day for me, generating ideas for me to think about when I should probably be thinking about something else.

I don’t make De-Motivational posters any more, but I do generate memes to amuse my friends and family. That’s super-fun.

I don’t play Ingress any more. I really don’t play games of any kind.

Current Favorite Authors: Neal Stephenson, Brandon Sanderson, and I just finished the Demon Cycle Series by Peter V. Brett.

Just finished watching Superstore on Hulu. Good show, mostly not painful (as some shows where the characters do painfully stupid things tend to be for me), and This is a Robbery on Netflix about the Gardener Museum Heist (as a palate cleanser). Not sure what I’ll watch next. I would like to know why I ever had cable though? I just wish there weren’t 20 streaming services. At some point it might as well be cable.

2 responses

  1. Wow! Look what popped up in my RSS reader! Nice to hear from you again.

    04/20/2021 at 3:45 AM

  2. Nice to see you too Purp!

    04/20/2021 at 3:40 PM

Leave a comment