Distractions, Diversions, Books, Wines, Whiskeys and Other Stuff To Think About When You Should Be Doing Something Else.

Distraction and Diversion of the TV Kind: What I’ve Been Watching.

In response to fellow 5GW theorist and blogfriend Purpleslog, a list of the shows I’ve been watching brought to you courtesy of my DVR, which makes any television viewing possible.

In no particular order:

Leverage: Con games and manipulation to right wrongs. How could a 5GWist not enjoy?

Justified: Wild West justice in the modern world. I’m with Purpleslog on this one. It’s awesome!

Warehouse 13: Sort of an X-files-ish detective show that doesn’t take itself too seriously. Great premise.

South Park: My half-hour dose of animated absurdity.

Rubicon: My favorite new show. Excellent!

FlashForward: Wins the Jericho award for the new show I liked that got canceled. My next nominee is The Event.

Bullrun: Hot cars and stunt driving do keep my interest.

Penn and Teller’s Bullshit: Very snarky. Very, very funny.

House: As long as this show remains about the case/puzzle I enjoy it. When it becomes a soap-opera, not so much.

Wipeout: The unapologetic unfairness of this show amuses me to no end.

5 responses

  1. I am undecided on Rubicon so far. I am still watching it.

    Justified Rocks.

    I never got into leverage.

    Warehouse 13…I watched much of the first season. The male lead is real good. The chemistry between the characters was forced and unnatural. I was bored by most of the story lines.

    Istill watch South Park. It was not a top season, so it droppd off my list. Plus I miss the Christmastime Adventure episodes.

    I have never seen bullshit, wipeout or bullrun.

    House is starting to get predictable. Its needs to bust out of that.

    Flash Forward was a great pilot and premise that just didn’t pan out.

    Jeez, I sound like a TV critic.

    09/03/2010 at 4:00 PM

  2. Especially with the most recent episode of Rubicon, where Will’s boss offers to help him from the shadows, I’m pretty sold on it.

    Warehouse 13: Yeah, the first season was pretty clunky. I honestly think they all expected to be cancelled pretty quickly. The second season is much more put together and the very forced romantic tension between the two main characters is completely gone, I think that is what made their chemistry seem off, it just didn’t work. They are more sibling-like now. I think you would like it better.

    09/03/2010 at 6:24 PM

  3. There were a few new summer shows that I liked:

    “The Glades” (on A&E) – seemed like it would be a generic detective show…but great acting, interesting stories, good chemistry were chemistry is needed made it my favorite summer show.

    “The Pillars of the Earth” – I think it is on Starz…but I have been streaming it from Netflix. It is a historical fiction set around the building of cathedral during the 12th Century Maude/Stephan English civil war.

    “Warren the Ape” – It was on MTV. I think it is over now. It was part of the “Greg the Bunny” universe. Don’t judge me!

    09/03/2010 at 6:53 PM

  4. I’ve watched some of The Glades. I like the main character. He amuses me. He’s kind of a detective version of House that way.

    Speaking of summer shows, Weeds has started up again. I’ve watched it up to this point but I’m really losing interest. Personally the best seasons of that show were the first two seasons.

    09/03/2010 at 7:37 PM

  5. I have never seen weeds. I think I can stream it for free from Netflix, but there is much I would watch before ever I got to it.

    09/03/2010 at 9:01 PM

Leave a Reply

