Distractions, Diversions, Books, Wines, Whiskeys and Other Stuff To Think About When You Should Be Doing Something Else.

The 2011-2012 Jericho Award

For those of you who aren’t familiar with the Jericho Award, that honor is bestowed, by me, upon the best new show of the season (starting in the summer and ending with the close of the spring finales) that was cancelled. Not very prestigious I’ll admit, but since it is awarded to the show that I like the most, I would like to think that it serves to point out an injustice or two.

This season has a few shows to nominate. I didn’t really like all of them all that well, but I did watch all of their episodes. There are other shows that failed after their first season, but for one reason or another, I didn’t watch them. You may think they are much better but if I don’t watch them they don’t get nominations.

And The Nominees Are:

The River

For all of the times that I rolled my eyes at the rampant stupidity of the people on the Magus the show really hooked me with the first episode and finished just as strong. Granted, in between there were a lot of moments where it was kind of painful. I think the weakest point was with writing that had to be, well, convoluted in order to get the group to go in a certain direction or down a particular path. On the whole I didn’t think the show had more than a season in it based on its premise but after the finale I could see potential. I also liked how it ended with a soft cliffhanger. Maybe it will get picked up by TNT or Syfy, but I doubt it. Too expensive. Not enough cult following.

Alcatraz

In spite of never being a Lost fan (I only watched the first season and that on DVD) I really enjoyed this show. The back and forth between the two timelines to tell the story and bit-by-bit reveal new aspects to the mystery worked for me. If anything I think the end of the first season was too ambitious and may have killed its chances of getting picked up by a cable network like Syfy, though it would still suffer from fewer problems than some other shows. I really though FOX would have brought this one back. Oh well.

The Finder

Ok, I don’t watch Bones so I don’t really understand the tie-in beyond being in the same narrative universe, but I am a sucker for quirky detective stories. This one was about as quirky as it gets. To tell the truth, I was a big fan of Walter logic and the ensemble cast really worked and was interesting. Each of the characters seemed to really effortlessly bring their particular skill-set to the table, though Walter was the one to tie them all together. If there are any of the nominated shows that I think should be picked up on cable it is this one. Personally, I think it is a natural fit for USA or A&E. Both of those networks already have quirky detective shows in Psych and The Glades (respectively) but I don’t think another would hurt either of them and may actually help to pull audience from one to the other.

Terra Nova

Ok, to be honest I didn’t like this show, but since I did watch all of the episodes I decided to include it with this season’s nominees. Honestly, the premise was weak. The plot was contrived. The special effects were gratuitous. The writing was tortuous. The acting was weak (I know, I already said weak but it fits here too). I am appalled that this is the show that is getting the most traction for a bid to go to cable. Seriously? I know Terra Nova had fans, but I just don’t understand what people see in this show.

And The Winner Is…:

Well, I am really tempted to declare a tie, but I think the show that I am going to miss the most is The Finder (whose potential Jericho-mate is Alcatraz). Both of these shows were solid all the way through and seeing as how they were on the same network, and that House is coming to an end, I don’t see why FOX would want to discard both of them while keeping the terminally stupid Touch. I could only stand two episodes of that piece of garbage.

Like I said, winning the Jericho Award is kind of ignominous. The reall winners this year are the shows that I watched that did get picked up for another season and that deserve a look from those of you who missed them. Here they are in no particular order (probably missing a few too):

  • Person of Interest
  • Hell on Wheels
  • Alphas
  • Grimm
  • Homeland
2 responses

  1. Curtis Gale Weeks

    “The writing was tortuous.” Yes, but although I made similar strongly worded criticism of Terra Nova after the first 2 episodes (each), I ended up watching the whole season. It kinda grew on me, although I also dreaded every step because I thought it would leap the dino-shark each episode or drop the last dino-feather on my back.

    I’m a MAJOR Bones fan, so I remember the episode where the folks from The Finder appeared on it—an obvious attempt to snatch Bones fans, since The Finder was about to premier. watched the pilot and another episode at some point, but didn’t like the guy. His finding was a little to mumbo-jumbo for me. If you like quirky procedural/investigative shows, just watch Psych sometime to see the huge difference. (Granted, I didn’t give The Finder much room to breath, because I turned away from it so quickly.)

    Have absolutely no knowledge of The River, and as far as Alcatraz goes….well, I’m starting to turn off real fast from supra-hyped television shows, especially if they resemble Lost at all. What was that one about the time-reset/time-travelers/aliens….? Anywho.

    But then in all honesty I don’t watch many shows when they air anymore, but catch up at some point on Hulu, which could be long after the fact.

    05/14/2012 at 6:49 PM

  2. Like I said, I did still manage to watch the whole season of Terra Nova, but it was more due to inertia than interest. I actually kind of hoped it got better

    I really do like Person of Interest which is another J. J. Abrams produced show like Alcatraz. It doesn’t have a sci-fi spin (unless a Big Brother computer is sci-fi) so you might enjoy it.

    05/17/2012 at 6:27 PM

Leave a Reply

